subscribe: Posts | Comments | Email

Eagles Beat Packers for NFL Title December 26, 1960

Comments Off on Eagles Beat Packers for NFL Title December 26, 1960
With 67,325 Philadelphia fans watching at Franklin Field (Still home to University of Pennsylvania Quakers), the Eagles won their last NFL championship, eleven years after having won their second consecutive title in 1949. They defeated the Green Bay Packers who were coached by the iconic Vince Lombadi, and featured Hall of Fame players; Quarterback Bart Starr, halfback/kicker Paul Hornung, fullback Jim Taylor, and linebacker Ray Nitschke.

It was a seesaw game that saw several lead changes. Early in the fourth quarter the Packers took a 13-10 lead after Starr threw a 7-yard touch down pass to Max McGee. On the next play the Eagles’ Ted Dean returned the kick off, 58 yards, to the Packers’ 39 yard line. The Eagles continued to move the ball and with 5:21 remaining, Dean took a 5-yard sweep into the end zone. The Packers launched a final drive, but the game ended when Taylor caught a last ditch Starr pass and ran to the Eagles 10 yard-line, where he was tackled by Chuck Bednarik.

For Eagles Fans Only, the Long Video

Eagles Win 2nd Consecutive Title

Eagles Win Championship in Blinding Snow December 19, 1948

Vince Lombardi Coaches Last Game December 21, 1969


Comments are closed.